ASME Recognizes Exceptional Service

David McColl receiving the 2017 Safety Codes and Standards (SCS) Medal at the A17 meeting in Toronto: (l-r) Geraldine Burdeshaw (secretary, A17 Standards Committee); Jim Coaker (chair, A17 Standards Committee); McColl; your author (chair, ASME Board on SCS); Patricia Reddington (ASME director, SCS); Hank E. Peelle, III (vice chair, A17 Standards Committee); and Richard Baxter (vice chair, A17 Standards Committee)

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) publishes a broad spectrum of safety codes and standards that address the needs of important industries. The development of such standards is supported by approximately 800 volunteers who participate in numerous committees. In recognition of their valuable contributions, deserving individuals are selected on an annual basis to receive the Safety Codes and Standards (SCS) Medal and SCS Dedicated Services Award. There are numerous worthy candidates from many committees engaged in SCS activities, so it is a special honor that ASME A17 committee members have been selected to receive the 2017 SCS Medal, as well as the 2017 SCS Dedicated Services Award.


The recipient of the 2017 SCS Medal is David McColl, who joins a group of past honorees from the A17 committee who are well known in the elevator industry, namely Ed Donoghue, Bob Seymour, Zack McCain, George Gibson, George Strakosch, Al Saxer, David Steel, Buddy Godwin, your author, Jim Coaker and Andy Juhasz.

McColl has been involved in SCS development for more than 20 years, and, over this time, made many contributions to the A17/CSA B44 series of standards, often in leadership positions. The 2017 SCS Medal recognizes him for his outstanding leadership in the improvement of safety standards within A17 and in the development of the requirements for Occupant Evacuation Operation (OEO).

OEO was no simple task and took many years of determined effort, technical knowledge and focused leadership. Following 9/11, a multidisciplinary, multi-interest workshop cosponsored by ASME was held in Atlanta in which McColl played a major role. Based on input from that event, McColl led a multidisciplinary team that studied the role of elevators in emergency situations. The team included first responders and emergency personnel, as well as code experts covering a wide variety of interest groups and disciplines. McColl facilitated a comprehensive hazard-analysis study on the role of elevators in emergencies and ultimately led the team in reaching consensus on proposals to the A17 Standards Committee. In due course, the OEO code language was embodied into A17.1/B44 and represents the state of the art in the use of elevators for public evacuation purposes during emergencies. It is now recognized as a benchmark for such operation internationally.

McColl also played a key role in the development of the A17.7/B44.7 Performance-Based Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators, which provides a structured approach to establishing design and product safety. Previously, McColl played a pivotal role in the efforts toward harmonization of A17.1 and B44. This led to the establishment of A17.1/B44, a monumental milestone in the convergence of elevator safety requirements between the U.S. and Canada.

McColl is the first Canada-based volunteer in the elevator industry to be awarded the ASME SCS medal, so it was appropriate that he received this award in his home base of Toronto before many American and Canadian attendees. Your author, chair of the ASME Board on SCS, presented the SCS Medal and a citation to McColl at the A17 Standards Committee meeting on October 4, 2017. It was an honor and a privilege. It has been a real pleasure to work with McColl over many years in the field of codes and standards, and to witness his contributions to the field of elevator safety, which, hopefully, will continue for many years to come.

McColl accepted the medal and citation with grace and humility. He thanked your author for his kind words and said he was honored to be added to the distinguished group of previous A17 recipients of the SCS Medal. He reflected that A17 code development is all about teamwork, and that OEO and other achievements could not have occurred without the hard work and support of a dedicated team. He thanked the Standards Committee for their support and ASME for selecting him for this special honor.

Dedicated Services Award

The recipient of the 2017 SCS Dedicated Services Award is Davis Turner, who has been deeply involved in SCS development for many years. This award is in recognition of dedicated voluntary service to ASME marked by outstanding performance, effective leadership, prolonged and committed service, devotion, enthusiasm and faithfulness. Turner’s contributions certainly fulfill these criteria. For 2017, he was specifically recognized for outstanding contributions in promoting the acceptance of ASME standards through the development and delivery of an educational webinar on the A17.4-2015 Guide for Emergency Personnel.

Hank E. Peelle, III, chair of the A17 Standards Committee, made the presentation to Turner at the A17 meeting in Phoenix on May 17, 2017. Peelle elaborated on Turner’s many contributions, constructive input on technical issues, inspirational leadership and perseverance in getting the job done.

Turner graciously accepted the award and acknowledged the support and contribution of his colleagues in the various committees he led and worked in. He thanked Peelle for his words and the Standards Committee for its support and endorsement. Turner received a standing ovation.

It is gratifying to observe that champions such as McColl and Turner receive recognition for their hard work and achievements. Their contributions are testaments to the high standard of dedication and achievement embedded in the culture of A17.

Related Tags

Elevator World | April 2018 Cover